We're white nerds in need of social interaction

Started by PhillyPhreak54, September 01, 2008, 07:51:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PhillyPhreak54

http://sports.espn.go.com/espnmag/story?id=3556641

QuoteBut honestly, I'm not surprised to learn that so few blacks are among the 30 million people who participate in fantasy sports. I've always thought that a lot of these guys (and 96% of them are guys) are nerds desperately in need of more sociable leisure-time activities. Leisure time for black folks historically consists of direct interaction, the kind of experience you get at a family barbecue or hanging out with friends. Sitting in front of a computer screen pretending to be Bill Parcells? Sounds like work to me.

Thanks, Screamin A.

QB Eagles

I don't think I buy either the data or Smith's conclusions. The only thing I've really noticed is lack of Asians. And being an engineer, I've known a lot of nerdy Asians who get all of their social interaction through a computer. That's not drawing them to fantasy football.

There might be something to the computer angle though. I'm in an pen-and-paper league that's been around since the mid-70s and it's probably the most diverse FF league I've ever seen. [Well, almost. Since it's run by old guys who like throwing the c-word around, women are banned.]

PhillyPhreak54

Well, there's the Asian guy on the NFL.com commercials from last year. Although I hope he's got a new jersey this year since Alexander has no job.

shorebird

Leave it to that icehole to bring up something so inconsequential as this. Who gives a farg?

Sounds like he's saying the brothers are too busy eating BBQ chicken and eating watermelon to play fantasy football.

Diomedes

Pretty much.  But he gets a pass to say so and you don't.  Yay idiocracy.

It's race baiting tripe, and not worthy of a thread, even here at :CF
There is considerable overlap between the intelligence of the smartest bears and the dumbest tourists." - Yosemite Park Ranger